Archie Jackson: in memoriam

One of the amazing things about writing this blog is that it’s put me in contact with people who either knew my father or who can fill in missing details. Recently, the daughter of Archibald William Jackson (Flt Lt NZ411903 RNZAF) left several comments and told me that her Dad was 92 years old but not very well.

She showed her Dad the photo below:

IMG_3315I included this photo in the Magnificent Seven blog post and Archie Jackson is identified as the pilot fifth from the left (on the immediate right of Dad, who is in the middle). Dedicated blog reader, Pierre, also confirmed this.

Although not well, on seeing the photo above, Archie recounted stories of their time together in Canada during training, then his time in India and Ceylon. In recent years, Archie Jackson was living in Rotorua, New Zealand but, sadly, he passed away on August 11, 2013. His obituary is here and I learnt that Archie married a woman named Shirley, same as my father did – Shirley Hyams was my mother’s maiden name.

I’m so very pleased that, in his final days, Archie was able to relive some of the memories he shared with my father and his own memories of his WWII experience. Another WWII hero has passed. His daughter is going to see if she can locate his logbook. It would be wonderful if there were entries that mention my father.

One puzzle though: Archie’s daughter has identified her father as being third from the LEFT in the photo above (i.e. in the position of NZ411923 Mildon, Vincent John). Possibly, she means third from the right? If she’s reading this post, perhaps she could confirm.

5 Comments

Filed under New Zealand WWII history, Photos

5 responses to “Archie Jackson: in memoriam

  1. Pierre Lagacé

    About one of the Magnificent Seven…

    Just Pictures?

  2. Chris Lees

    Hi there. When I look at the photo my dad, Archie Jackson, is definitely third from the left. He is looking at the camera with his trademark smile and is the shortest in the group! Great news also, his log book has been found! I have yet to sight it but will be soon. I will definitely keep your blog updated once I get to read dad’s book. How exciting is that! Wonderful coincidence about their wife’s names 🙂

    • Hi Chris What fabulous news about the logbook. I can’t wait to hear what your Dad had to say and if he mentions my father. I’m SO glad it’s been located. Isn’t it a coincidence – wives named Shirley:-) And thanks for confirming your Dad in the photo.

  3. Peter

    I very much enjoyed reading the blog. I am researching a 181 squadron pilot Richard (Dick) Guthrie, and very much looking forward to hearing more about Flt Lt Jenkins time through 1944 and Normandy campaign.

    Peter

    • Hi Peter. I have quite a few loyal readers who are very knowledgeable, especially Pierre. I hope they might be able to help you with your research on Richard Guthrie. We are about to get into the real action in this blog, so keep coming back!!

Leave a comment